If I Had A God.

Samantha
3 min readSep 3, 2024
Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

If I had a god,
Which one would I embrace?
If I were to find a deity to pray to,
Would compassion pour down like a gentle rain?
Cleansing the wounds, would forgiveness flow freely,
Healing the fractures and brokenness deep within?

Lost in the haze of uncertainty, I wander aimlessly,
Trudging through the murky waters of doubt,
Seeking comfort in tales that remain untold,
Searching for words unknown,
If I had a god, would it ease the cost?
Would the sorrow be easier to bear?

Growing up in darkness where belief was absent,
A soul adrift, weighed down by unspoken doubts,
Faith did not reside here, hope was not welcomed,
Yearning for a beacon to lead me through the night,
If I had a god, would they have heard my pleas?
Would forgiveness wash away any sins?

I wasn’t raised to have faith in anything,
Not even in myself, belief was not welcomed,
If I had a god, would the pain be easier to hold,
I’m on a quest for something meaningful to believe in,
More than just a fleeting distraction, or a…

--

--

Samantha

A Mom first then the rest. Using words and art, to find her way, Untangling thoughts, day by day.